Thursday, March 12, 2009

Blog Catalog Recent Viewers

I use my Blogcatalog recent viewers widget to return the favor to my visitors. Tonight when I tried to visit some of my blogging buddies, I got this message:


It happened on all of the blogcatalog users who had visited my site. I clicked on the button to see why I was getting this message and it said:

Safe Browsing
Diagnostic page for blogcatalog.com/user

What is the current listing status for blogcatalog.com/user?

Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.

Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 1 time(s) over the past 90 days.

What happened when Google visited this site?

Of the 403 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 19 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2009-03-11, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2009-03-11.

Malicious software includes 19 trojan(s). Successful infection resulted in an average of 1 new processes on the target machine.

Malicious software is hosted on 1 domain(s), including 82.98.193.0/.

2 domain(s) appear to be functioning as intermediaries for distributing malware to visitors of this site, including winkeychecker.com/, brilliantweather.com/.

This site was hosted on 7 network(s) including AS33070 (RMH), AS22822 (LLNW), AS8075 (MICROSOFT).

Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?

Over the past 90 days, blogcatalog.com/user did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.

Has this site hosted malware?

No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.

How did this happen?

In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.

Next steps:

* Return to the previous page.
* If you are the owner of this web site, you can request a review of your site using Google Webmaster Tools. More information about the review process is available in Google's Webmaster Help Center.

Well isn't that just lovely? It's not me or my bloggers' profiles that are infectious, it's BLOGCATALOG! I certainly hope they get this taken care of and FAST, or else everyone just might leave them!

Anyone else experiencing this?

2 comments:

80sMom said...

Thanks so much for the heads up on this, lakelandmom. I am not getting the same warning when i click on the profiles, everything looks normal. But I do not take this with a grain of salt and will be careful to not visit blogcatalog. Does this also mean we should remove the blogcatalog widget from our blogs? I'm not tech savvy enough to know whetehr having that on my blog is a danger.

Lakelandmom said...

I checked this again today, same thing. I'm assuming you're using Internet Explorer? I quit using that because it's so susceptible to viruses and garbage. I use both IE and Firefox at work to help with troubleshooting internet students, so I checked in both Firefox and Internet Explorer: IE lets you go there just fine, while Firefox does not. I checked with Google and the warning is legitimate.

So...the reason it looks fine to you is that you're not using Firefox.

As for whether or not we should remove our Blogcatalog widgets...I was going to wait out the weekend to see if they fixed it, but then I got to thinking that the Google crawler robots might identify the link and think MY site is malicious! So yes, I'm going to remove mine - temporarily. It's only dangerous to readers if you follow the link to the person's profile on Blogcatalog and then stumble across the morons who have the trojans on their sites.

I don't know why people have to be so malicious!

Have a great weekend!

Post a Comment

Blog Archive

My Blog List